Membership informs your work, connects you with your colleagues, and advances your career. Share knowledge, celebrate accomplishment, and lead the field.

Distinguished Award for Advancement of the Field

The Distinguished Award for Advancement of the Field of Conservation recognizes institutions for vital and long-standing support of professional development  activities of conservators.

Deadline: February 1

Nominate Edit Nomination


  • Write a letter outlining why the nominee deserves this award.
  • Collect letters from at least two additional co-sponsors.


  • 2017: The Library of Congress
  • 2009: Getty Conservation Institute
  • 2005: National Center for Preservation Training & Technology
  • 2004: Leo and Karen Gutmann Foundation and Stanford University Libraries
  • 2003: American Academy in Rome
  • 1996: Andrew Mellon Foundation, Samuel H. Kress Foundation, and Getty Grant Program