Membership informs your work, connects you with your colleagues, and advances your career. Share knowledge, celebrate accomplishment, and lead the field.

Feller Award

We award the Robert L. Feller Lifetime Achievement Award for exceptional contributions to the conservation profession over the course of one’s career.

Deadline: January 15

Nominate Edit Nomination


  • Write a letter outlining why the nominee deserves this award.
  • Collect letters from at least two additional co-sponsors.


  • Distinguished service to the field of conservation over the course of one’s professional career
  • Exceptional contributions with significant impact to the functioning or advancement of the conservation profession
  • Outstanding and sustained dedication to the field in a manner consistent with the highest standards of the profession
  • Distinction as an eminent authority in some aspect of conservation practice, scholarship, research, education, or management of nationally recognized initiatives.
  • Candidates must be an Professional Associate or Fellow member.

Additional Guidelines

  • Nominations should describe conservation and preservation activities that demonstrate the candidate's lifetime of contributions to the advancement of the conservation profession.
  • Nominations should include visual documentation (photos, slides, etc.).
  • Nominations should show how the candidate has broadened its community’s understanding of the goals of conservation.
  • Nominations may come from candidates themselves, but we encourage additional letters of support.
  • Nominators should know that we may sometimes award more than one person in the same year when merited. 


  • 2023: Sarah Wagner and Susan Buck
  • 2022: Stephen Koob and Jeanne Marie Teutonico
  • 2021: Pamela Hatchfield
  • 2019: Scott Carrlee*
  • 2018: Alan Phenix, Bruno Pouliot*
  • 2017: Margaret Loew Craft
  • 2016: Dr. James Druzik
  • 2015: Terry Drayman-Weisser
  • 2012: Dan Kushel
  • 2011: Dr. Robert L. Feller*

* Deceased

Dr. Robert L. Feller (1919-2018)

Named in honor of one of conservation’s most influential scientists, Dr. Robert Feller, founder and Emeritus Director of the Research Center on the Materials of the Artist and Conservator at Carnegie Mellon University, and Honorary Member of the American Institute for Conservation, we established this award in 2011 to recognize exceptional contributions to the conservation profession over the course of one’s career. We first presented the award at our 39th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia to Dr. Robert Feller in honor of his extraordinary contributions to the field of conservation.


Feller, Robert