Past Host Institutions of Samuel H. Kress Conservation Fellowships administered by FAIC

In 2011, the Samuel H. Kress Foundation and FAIC entered into a collaboration, in which FAIC administers the Samuel H. Kress Conservation Fellowship program.  6 awards are made each year, each in the amount of $32,000.  Beginning in 2018, the full $32,000 must be allocated as a fellowship stipend.  Payroll taxes may be withheld from the $32,000, but any other benefits, travel or education reimbursement, or administrative costs must be met by the institution or other funding.  Grant funds may not be used for indirect costs. Preference will be given to applications that provide for a larger stipend for the Fellow.

2017 Fellowships Awarded

  • Biltmore Estate
  • George Washington University Museum and The Textile Museum
  • Museums of New Mexico
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art
  • University of Virginia Library
  • Yale Center for British Art

2016 Fellowships Awarded

  • Arizona State Museum
  • Shelburne Museum
  • SAAM
  • Trinity College Library
  • UCLA Library
  • Walters

2015 Fellowships Awarded

  • Art Gallery of New South Wales
  • Art Institute of Chicago
  • Cleveland Museum of Art
  • Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts
  • Indianapolis Museum of Art
  • Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
  • Northeast Document Conservation Center
  • Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
  • Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library

2014 Fellowships Awarded

  • Dartmouth College Library
  • Denver Art Museum
  • Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
  • Smithsonian Institution National Museum of African Art
  • Smithsonian Institution National Museum of Natural History
  • Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
  • University of Michigan, Kelsey Museum of Archaeology
  • University of Notre Dame, Hesburgh Libraries
  • Yale University, Yale Center for British Art

2013 Fellowships Awarded

  • Arizona State Museum
  • Art Gallery of Ontario
  • Harvard Library
  • Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
  • Museum of Modern Art
  • New York State Office of Parks Recreation and Historic Preservation, Bureau of Historic Sites
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art
  • University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology
  • Walters Art Museum

2012 Fellowships Awarded

  • Baltimore Museum of Art
  • Chicago History Museum
  • Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
  • Indianapolis Museum of Art
  • National Gallery of Denmark
  • Shelburne Museum
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum
  • Tate (London)
  • Whitten & Proctor Fine Art Conservation

2011 Fellowships Awarded

  • Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine.
  • Museum of Modern Art
  • Kelsey Museum of Archaeology
  • Art Institute of Chicago
  • Walters Art Museum
  • Sèvres – Cité de la céramique
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Cincinnati Art Museum
  • Smithsonian Institute/National Museum of African American History and Culture